March 24, 2009

The Repotroire of Human Emotions

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:21 pm by stevielyn

Right at this moment, I’m in love with two songs-‘In your eyes’ done by Sara Bareilles and Jai Ho from Slumdog Millionaire. I don’t know why…well, maybe I do. ‘In your eyes’ is about hope. The hope that comes only from knowing you have given it all. She sings about finding that, in someone’s eyes, you can get lost. You can find yourself. Time moves so slowly as more and more of your soul gets pulled in. And after that first look, it’s done. You are forever trapped in those irises. You leave all the noise, all your pride, and reach for that light, that heat. Those eyes hold all the answers to the questions you’ve been searching for. Those eyes are the windows to the soul that matches yours. The speaker sings about not liking to see all the pain, see so much wasted. And that’s how I feel right now. I see that I cause pain, that there is love wasted, and not returned and people upset. And the worst part is that I can’t do anything, because I can’t relate. Any feelings I have, anything that makes me feel complete, I am not finding in the right places, if at all. Wouldn’t it be nice if all the puzzle pieces could fit together? And yes, I know that day will come but as Sara sings….I get so lost sometimes. Not only in a person’s eyes, but in that search for something I have yet to find.

(Sorry if all this is just rambling…I’m writing this as these songs are playing)

Listen to Jai Ho please! It is an amazing song….

there is hope in life. and after hope, there is suspense….you’re working really hard for something and now all you can do is wait for the response. when things have worked, there is happiness. this song is about all the happiness, is about living in the moment and shaking it till there’s no tomorrow. It doesn’t matter what the problems were, they are all gone now. In this movie, it took these two childhood friends years to be together. This song tells me that life is what it is. It’s life. and we live it. To the best we can. And soemtimes, we fight. Sometimes, we get tempted. Sometimes, we get inspired. Sometimes, we think we’ve found what we’ve been looking for and we’re wrong. But every once in a while, the best thing that could have happened-well, it happens. And then there is nothing more to do but celebrate. Embrace the energy and the change and everything that makes up this weird thing called life. Maybe we all don’t have what we really want right now, but we all have things that we are glad we have. and those are the things to be thankful for…the appreciation and love of friends, the sunshine, the occasional smile from a stranger…

You know, it’s possible that that one look, that one smile, could be the start of a lot of hope.

Leave a comment